Eating Vegan in Montreal

Aux Vivres Montreal Vegan Cafe & Juice Bar

One of the most enriching elements of travel is experiencing the world through the culture of food. Being a vegetarian I find this to be an exciting and sometimes challenging undertaking! In the past I have worried that by not eating meat I might be limiting myself to essential parts of a culture that may revolved around a meat centric diet. With a little bit of exploration I have found that being a vegetarian opens up so many wonderful and unique opportunities to connect with the local foodie culture.

One website that I find to be a lifesaver when it comes to vegetarian travel is Happy Cow. Although Montreal is known for having a strong foodie culture with top chefs it was a challenge to find places that were family friendly, but not touristy bad food.  When I finally uncovered Aux Vivres we only had two days left in Montreal….. I probably would have eaten there 20 times if we had discovered it earlier.

The mission at Aux Vivres  is “to disprove misconceptions about vegan cooking by offering a wide variety of inspired, satisfying meals that are every bit as tasty as they are healthy.” After eating “kid friendly” for weeks on end, the food and friendly atmosphere at Aux Vivres nourished our body and soul. The boys were grinning to have a delicious Tropicalia smoothie and to eat food similar to what we eat when we are home. They devoured plate after plate of brown rice, tofu and broccoli, while I had the Dragon Bowl one day and the Californienne (a salad) the next.  Being a vegetarian I am accustomed to going to a restaurant and only having one or maybe two choices on the menu, when I can eat anything on the menu it always feels a bit daunting to pick something!  Rest assured at Aux Vivres everything is amazing!

You will leave feeling full and energized after a healthy meal with delicious innovative flavors created with local and seasonal produce. The food impressed me so much that after having lunch there with the boys one day we went back for dinner with my husband the next!

Aux Vivres Vegan Cafe & Juice Bar

Categories: Family Travel, Meatless Monday | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Eating Vegan in Montreal

  1. Thanks for the Happy Cow tip. That should make my vegetarian life a lot easier 🙂

    • dawnhbrady

      Ohhh happycow is awesome! It has saved us from so many miserable meals of iceburg lettuce, and I have found so many amazing off the beaten path restaurants that way! Now if I could just come up with a good vegetarian holiday meal…. hmm….

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

