How To Dress Your Child For A Day Of Skiing

A number of years ago, I worked at Golden Peak Ski School for Vail Resort. It was not uncommon for parents to ask us, “how should we dress our child for a day of skiing?”  We all know that when your child is warm and comfortable they will be happy, and if they are not happy it’s almost as bad is if mamma is not happy…..

Dressing your child for a day of skiing is easy as 1, 2, 3……

1. SUNSCREEN

it might not seem intuitive, but if you are skiing at high altitude, especially in Colorado where it’s more common to have a sunny winter day then a cloudy one the risk of getting a sunburn is really high. If  you have a teenager it might be a little bit harder to convince them that they need sunscreen….. if only I had the picture from my junior year spring break when I didn’t want to have “racoon eyes” where my face is tan and the skin around my eyes are white from the goggles. So as brilliant as someone is when they are 16 I decided to put on sunscreen but not wear my goggles, great plan except I didn’t put sunscreen around my eyes and I ended up looking like a racoon anyway, but my face was white and my eyes had the worst sunburn of my life!

Wondering what sunscreens are the safest for you and your children. Click HERE to view the EWG’s Skin Deep Report on the Safest Sunscreens.

2. You can’t go wrong when you LAYER:

Start with a great base layer. I LOVE the youth base layers made by Smartwool that can be found at REI and other great outdoor companies. The youth midweight underwear crew and the midweight long underwear  bottoms are a great start to keeping your little ones warm when it is cold outside.

Over the base layer  add a sweater or fleece. If it is really cold that day a t-shirt can be added between the base layer and the sweater.

For bottom all you should need is the base layer and a good pair of snow pants.

3. ACCESSORIZE 

With a great pair of wool socks, again, I LOVE smartwool socks for myself and my kids. Complete the look with a neck gator, mittens/gloves, goggles and a helmet and you and your little one are off to find their inner ski god/goddess.

Of course the most important thing to remember is make sure you have your child go to the bathroom BEFORE you start to get their ski clothes on.

Have a great day on the slopes!

Categories: Family Travel, Uncategorized, Winter Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

