A Sneak Peek

Boarding the plane for Ireland I knew we would have a great time, that it would be wonderful to be back. Honestly, I thought what would I have to post to the blog. We did and saw so much last summer, there can’t be anything more that is “worth writing home about” I thought at the end of the trip I would post a few of my favorite pictures and that would be that.

Holy moly was I wrong, we have had so many more adventures on this most wonderful Island, I don’t even know where to start or how to pick what to blog about first, so here (in random order) is a sneak peak into what we have done the last 8 days.

Viking Boat Tour – great fun! There are a handful of the boats used around the world for tours. All boats were all built in Pontiac Michigan by women during WW2 our boat “Loki” is the only one of the Dublin Fleet that they know for certain was not used during the D-Day Landings, the tour that left before ours, “Thor” is the only one of the fleet they know for certain was used on D-Day. I had no idea we were going to be riding in a part of history. ~Seamus want’s to do a full blog post about the Viking Boat tour, but he is supposed to be falling asleep right now.

Seamus & Nana Kathie after getting drenched in rain! Yikes, glad I got a seat under the roof on the tour

Seamus & Nana Kathie just before getting drenched in rain! Yikes, glad I got a seat under the roof on the tour

DSC_0345

darn, Zoli and I really can pull off the Viking Hat Accessory…. maybe we can bring it back as a new trend in Colorado…

Riverdance at Gaity Theater – after Quinn said, “mom we should do this every summer” I’m so glad we stayed for the second half, the theater was a tad stuffy and I wasn’t sure that the boys were enjoying themselves. To be honest the 2nd half was even better then the 1st and the “dance off” was awesome.

I would like to tell you that we are cultured and sophisticated attending the theater... but the honest truth is the boys were in soccer pants and t-shirts... no civility for the wild men.

I would like to tell you that we are cultured and sophisticated attending the theater… but the honest truth is the boys were in soccer pants and t-shirts… no civility for the wild men.

Played At The Beach – skipped stones, Seamus is even nutty enough to go in the cold cold water, silly boy! He loves it.

I know, you can't see the ocean in this picture, but look at this face, just so cute.

I know, you can’t see the ocean in this picture, but look at this face, just so cute.

Stayed in the best cottage in all of Ireland, seriously it was amazing, I loved Leabeg house, Matt almost had to drag me out of there kicking and screaming!

Just laughing with my brother. Check out the cows in the background!

Hanging out at the cottage, just laughing with my brother. Check out the cows in the background, our new BFF’s

Wicklow Way – we spent an afternoon hiking the Wicklow Way, I don’t think it can get any more Irish then hiking with views of the green mountains and the blue sea in the background, oh and sheep grazing on the trail. Stunning, it was like hiking in a fairy tale.

Moments after I took this picture a sheep walked behind the boys on the path! Although they called it a goat, I think we need to visit more farms so they can learn their animals!

Moments after I took this picture a sheep walked behind the boys on the path! Although they insisted it was a goat, silly boys!

Powerscourt Waterfall – we stopped there on a whim and wow, amazing, another fairy tale setting!

Taa Daa - at the base of Powerscout Waterfall

Taa Daa – at the base of Powerscout Waterfall

Glendalough – the camera battery died right before we got to Glendalough so I didn’t get to take any pictures there.  The boys were equally fascinated and disturbed. Fascinated that the door that was 12 feet in the air so that the munks could use a ladder to get in and then pull the ladder up to escape from danger. Disturbed to be walking on “ancient” grave sites.

Avoca – I want to wrap myself in the georgous blankets they make. I could have spent all day watching the process of the weaving. The boys couldn’t last that long, so we had to leave…..otherwise I would still be there, well they would probably start to think I was nuts and kick me out.  Matt was kind (smart?) to not look to closely when they rang up the bill at the gift shop.

DSC_0448 DSC_0451

 

Oh, and we had dinner in a real castle, stopped (3 times) at my absolute favorite cafe anywhere, The Happy Pear and went horseback riding, but the WIFI (pronounced WEE FEE like a true european) is so so very slow in the hotel and I need to go to sleep. So this sneak peek will have no pictures of the castle or horseback riding… but they are coming

What vacation have you taken where you thought you would have a great time and then had even more fun then you expected?

Categories: Dublin, Family Travel, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

