A Perfect Day

It has been said that a picture is worth 1,000 words, so this post will have very few words, and LOTS of pictures.

Last week we had (in my opinion) a perfect day on vacation. Of course it involved all things I love with the people I love!

The day started with an early lunch at The Happy Pear in Graystones, sometimes I think we go to Ireland just so I can eat at their cafe.

After lunch we stopped at the Powerscourt Waterfall. I didn’t know what to expect, as you can see it was STUNNING!!! The boys loved playing in the stream at the bottom of the waterfall and climbing on the rocks

waterfall

View of the waterfall from above (this was taken when we were hiking)

quinn_waterfall

Quinn saying “Ta-Da” I am the king of the waterfall!

Q_Z_waterfall

Zoli trying to say no, I am the king, Quinn looking like he is going to push Zoli off to regain his kingdom! Boys will be boys…. right?

Matt_S_waterfallagain

Seamus & Matt having some guy time on the top of a very high rock that mama didn’t want to climb up… once again, boys will be boys

Matt_S_waterfall

Still up on the really high rock, I’m trying not to think about them falling or how in the heck they are going to get down. Did I mention it was high!

Matt_S_uphigh

At least I thought it was high and sheer… maybe I just worry too much, what do you think? Sheer rock face, raging waterfall behind, slippery rocks, two of the people you love climbing around on there..

waterfall_picnic

getting ready to leave the waterfall and fueling up for our hike.

boys_me

Me and my boys after everyone was safely off all high slippery rocks!

We left the waterfall and for our hike on the Wicklow Way. Have I mentioned how beautiful it is in Wicklow!

street_signs

I think we are in the right place!

Wickow_way_sign

Entrance to the trail. I wonder what we will see along the way…

wicklow_way

Let the adventures begin!

boys_hiking

I felt like we were hiking in a magical forest

boys_hiking_downhill

Downhill…. you can’t see it in the picture but when the boys got to the bottom of the hill there was a sheep on the path!

Wicklow_Way_View

One of the stunning views along the trail. What beautiful weather we had

Wicklow_way_flowers

I loved the purple and yellow flowers

stone_fence

last scenery picture, but how perfect is this stone fence

 

notice the dry shoes on the rock in the left, notice the boy on the left, imagine how boy on left could “bump” shoes on left…. into the river and Seamus had to hike back to the car with wet shoes! ick!

 

4_leaf_clovers

A patch of clovers along the side of the trail – I think they must have brought us good luck, since right after we saw them Seamus was walking on a log that stuck out over the edge and the branch cracked, he was able to grab onto another branch! Yikes, what a moment!

seamus_branch

Here is the branch Seamus was walking on right before it cracked/broke!

And that was our beautiful, perfect day.

Categories: Family Travel, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

