Starfish, Sea Lions & Eagles!

Sea Lions popping their sweet heads out of the water, star fish covering the ocean floor a bald eagle closer then we have ever seen and us gliding through it all in kayaks!

Last weeks adventure started at the end of a dusty dirt road leading away from Pourpise Bay Provincial Park. Pedals and Paddles an Outdoor Adventure, rental and guided tour company with the kindest owners and wonderful boats, was the start of our epic day on the water. Every direction we turned offered us a view more stunning then you ever thought possible. I will be honest, living surrounded by mountains in Colorado it is hard to impress me with a mountain view, but when the mountains rise up out of the ocean, it’s magic!

 Here is a glimpse of what made that day so special:

Some new friends, we also saw beautiful sea lions, but I was so entranced watching them I forgot to take any pictures!

Not quite as adorable as the sea lions, but the star fish were great!

Not quite as adorable as the sea lions, but the star fish were great!

Amazing! I can't believe the boys had the opportunity to see this eagle so close.

Amazing! I can’t believe the boys had the opportunity to see this eagle so close.

A stop for lunch

Our Lunch Spot was Oyster Beach - every where we looked there were signs with warnings about bears. I am very glad we didn't  have to share our lunch with any bears!

Our Lunch Spot was Oyster Beach – . I am very glad we didn’t meet any bears that wanted to share our lunch, or eat us for their lunch!!!

Sea shells bigger then cell phones. Did I mention much more appealing then cell phones as well!

Sea shells bigger then cell phones.! You can’t get any apps on them but much more soothing to the soul!

I could get used to this view

I could get used to this view

a beautiful way to travel!

a beautiful way to travel!

My kayaking kings

Paddling up to shore at the end of the trip. I can't believe he is still smiling after all that work against the wind! Tougher then I am!

Paddling up to shore at the end of the trip. I can’t believe he is still smiling after all that work against the wind! Tougher then I am – but don’t tell him. I hope to fool him for a few more years into thinking his mamma is tough!!! Not sure I can do that though, he is now a faster ice skater then I am (that was a sad moment for me!) and can kick my ass with the amount of push ups he can do, 25+ with out stopping. I won’t say how many I can do, but it is SIGNIFICANTLY lower!

A well deserved smile after paddling solo (and LOVING it) for miles and miles!

A well deserved smile after paddling solo (and LOVING it) for miles and miles!

The double motor - one fast boat!

The double motor – now that is one fast  boat and full of cuteness!

Zoli has some super paddle power to go with that cute smile

Zoli has some super paddle power to go with that cute smile

A little ray of sunshine in the middle hatch of the kayak like the price he is.

A little ray of sunshine in the middle hatch of the kayak like the prince he is.

Even the little ray of sunshine picked up the paddle - I got to glide in then

Even the little ray of sunshine picked up the paddle and powered our boat right in to shore!

Categories: Family Travel | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Starfish, Sea Lions & Eagles!

  1. Looks like fun!! What a fun trip now that all the kiddos can (almost!) pull their own weight. Were you camping or staying in a lodge?

    • Sarah, it was awesome to be able to take a trip like this and have the kids for the most part pull their own weight! Regarding lodging, I actually thought of you, and globe.li!
      We had the hardest time connecting with a place to stay, no good central website for lodging, cabins etc (that I could find and was easy to use) we ended up in a little motel, which was perfect for our needs, but we would have loved a cabin. When we were there the people working at the kayak rental shop was talking about all the great cabin rentals in the area….. urgh I wish I could have found that before we left :)!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

